La vida de Annie

By Annie

Happy Chinese New Year!

Today I was mostly tidying up the garden in preparation for tomorrow's fortnightly collection of green waste by the council. We have 3 wheelie-bins; green for garden stuff, blue for anything recyclable which is also on a complicated list of what Liverpool City Council deems recyclable, and a lovely bright purple one for normal waste. The purple bins were introduced throughout Liverpool a couple of years ago to brighten up the city, and it being my favourite colour I was delighted. Seeing them all lined up along the nearby streets on collection day always makes me smile. They were not so well received locally however. I live in a Victorian park in a conservation area near the river, and rules are very strict about what colour you can paint your door, the height of your fence etc. A few of the (older) neighbours declared the new bins An Abomination and refused to have them, but the council refused to collect anything not in the corporate colour so they soon caved. Anyway, I digress. I was going to blip the overflowing green bin containing the (rotting) fruits of my labours, but this was so boring I thought I'd blip number 2 daughter holding a giant Chinese painted fan instead! This is not as random as it seems because I'm reliably informed that the Year of the Ox starts today.
Happy New Year everyone!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.