Charity begins at home.

A friend of ours phoned this morning, and is having a problem with his computer. J said he would call on him, after dropping me at the gym. I saw Mike, who had been on the Bodytrax machine last week. He wasn't very happy, as his metabolic age was 65, and his real age is 59.  Oh dear, I tried to mollify him a little, by saying that we shouldn't take it too seriously! I had to go into town afterwards, as I had to pick up our repeat prescriptions from Boots. I had a look if the Red Baron  bear was still in Ty Hafan's window( it was)  and I saw this lovely teddy in a denim dress on the top shelf. I was going to go in & ask how much it was, but I thought to myself, just keep walking, you don't need it. I caught the bus home, and told J all about the teddy  I had seen. He said, I'll take you down now. Well I didn't need much persuasion, so off we went. I said I wouldn't give more than £9.99 for it. I went into the shop, asked if I could have a look at it, and they wanted £19.99 for her. It was more than I wanted to give, but I just had to have her, didn't I?  The manager said, all the teddy bears in the window, and the Red Baron, had all been donated by the same person. She said, I'm glad she's going to a good home, and I replied, she will be well looked after. When we got home, we were trying to think of a good name for her,  and we both said, at the same time, Charity. She has a label on her back called Boyds Bears, so she is a collectable bear, but that doesn't really matter, because she is now priceless, and all mine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.