Flaneur

By NickMog

Mexican Standoff

It was stalemate. His Xatnep SLR was old but it looked pretty effective from where I was standing - just inches away from the business end.

"Go ahead" I said. "What's stopping you?"

My mouth went dry as I saw his finger move on the shutter release button. The click as he partially depressed it echoed around the room like a very loud click. I heard the whir of his autofocus as it locked in on me.

He cleared his throat. When he spoke, the words came out like the rasp of a worn autowind motor - "We can both walk away from this. No-one needs to get shot today. What say we both put down our pieces real slow?"

Inside my head, bells were ringing and a choir was singing. I realised that he didn't know about my back-up. The iPhone was never going to win me any photography awards but it might just be enough to take that one crucial picture.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.