Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Two puzzles. One solved.

More autumny in large. Press L on your keyboard.

For the last three weeks, there has been a constant knocking. Not on the door. In the bathroom. The trouble with tenements is that you can't always ascertain where the noise is coming from. The knocking, every 10 seconds or so, has not stopped, and in fact, is much louder at night.

Of course, this is driving me mad! I have been up to listen in the boys' bathroom upstairs. They can hear it. I've been downstairs, they can hear it. I've been praying that it would just stop as mysteriously as it started.

At 4am on the morning we were leaving to go on holiday, the knocking changed to a machine gun rattle. Not as loud as a machine gun, of course. This sounded much more serious. I lay awake and decided that we couldn't go swanning off on holiday in case there was some disaster about to happen and the flat would be flooded while were away.

However, by 8am, it was back to regular knocking. So I alerted Uncle A and requested that he pop in during the day, which he duly did. No flooding. Just knocking.

Today I went to the top flat. Yes! It's their toilet! The plumber has been and 'fixed' it. But it 'might continue for a week or so before it stops'.

Sorry. That's not what I call 'fixing it.' Still, I'm overjoyed to have found out where it's coming from and it's not something serious.

Another puzzle manifested itself this morning. Actually, it's more of a disaster, but I didn't want you to think I'm a drama queen. As if...

I have lost/mislaid my Bus Pass! AND my Club Card! This is highly annoying, as I usually guard them carefully. The Club Card is all right, I can get in without it, but today I had to pay on the bus! Of course, I could have walked, but we were running late for our assignation at the Club. I could have walked back home too, and did walk through the Gardens, where I took the photo of the South Bridge and the autumny colours, but a bus arrived at the stop just when I did - and I just can't resist that serendipity, even at £1.40!

I took my 50mm macro lens with me today - leaving behind my dangerous weapon of a monopod after all the warnings yesterday about the blind man being tazered by the police for having a white stick. I really love my wide angle lens which is great for city vistas, but I took three shots and stitched them together.

Watched 'The Lady' on the big screen last night. Not the Iron Lady. Just the Lady, about Aung San Suu Kyi. What a sad story, and what an amazing woman! Back to Six Feet Under tonight.

And perhaps a glass of wine to celebrate the Solving of the Mysterious Knocking.


Several glasses if I also find that Bus Pass...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.