Sunset at the Bosque Del Apache

It's been on my photography bucket list for a long time and today I finally got here to the Bosque Del Apache National Wildlife Refuge in back of beyond, New Mexico. It is about 90 miles south of Albuquerque.  It is most famous for the tens of thousands of Snow Geese and Sand Cranes that winter here.  Many of them have already started their migration north but there are still plenty around, although today, they kept their distance.  

We arrived around midday and spent some time at the visitor's center talking to the rangers in order to get our bearings.  We drove around the refuge for a couple of hours and then headed to our hotel.  I returned by myself for sunset and was just blown away by the amazing light.  The Cranes decided to roost far from the observation areas but there was still plenty of activity on the pools.  What a magical place this is.  I am off to bed now so I can get up early and return for sunrise. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.