The Lozarithm Lens

By Lozarithm

Horton Bridge

Last Saturday I went to Devizes to buy some groceries. I had £20's worth of vouchers left over from when I subscribed to Sky that I could use at M&S. I came back with loads of appropriately luxury items, including one of their £10 meal-for-two-with-wine deals.

I didn't spend a lot of time outdoors as it was rather cold, damp and grey, but on the way there I did stop at Horton Bridge, on the Kennet and Avon, for a brief towpath walk, ever on the lookout for herons and kingfishers, and, as usual, not seeing any.

In warmer weather, a bench seat near the bridge serves as one of my offices (I've previously blipped another one in Kellaways), but sadly it has now become too chilly to keep still for a useful length of time. There were some narrowboats moored there, with smoke coming from their chimneys suggesting snug cosiness on board, and as usual, friendly types on the towpath to say hello to.

Shopping done, I had a look at Devizes Wharf, with its recently opened new café and new photography exhibition, and found a wide footpath heading north nearby that I hadn't come across before. However, gloomy light and impending rain soon had me heading homeward with thoughts of Merlin and True Blood on Sky+, and indulgent eats.

L.
20.10.2012

Blip #812
Consecutive Blip #025
Day #933

Alternatives:
Canal At Horton Bridge
Ruby Tuesday
Devizes Wharf
Ducks By The Water

Lens: Pentax 17-70mm

Horton Bridge series
Kennet and Avon Canal series

Lozarhythm Of The Day:
The Unthanks : Starless (2011)
I was rather stuck for anything linking to today's blip. It would have been considerably easier had I chosen the Ruby Tuesday alternative. Rachel Unthank to the rescue with this King Crimson cover. Thanks, Unthanks.

One year ago: West Kennet Avenue (A blip I'd forgotten taking)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.