Sunny roses

We have a second day of bright sunshine (and cold),  It makes for a lovely change.  I found these tiny buds on a miniature rose bush at the supermarket  Their delicate color caught my eye.

While reading an article in the newspaper about the record-breaking ghastly flu season we're having this year, I found myself thinking back to when the first polio vaccine was being tested and we were innoculated en masse in the school gym.  Painful though it was, we knew that something important was happening - that vaccine knocked out polio in this country.  Yet today we have more and more people who think flu shots aren't important or reject vaccines that target other dangerous diseases, with no concern for the consequences for public health.  I don't understand such self-centeredness.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.