Lizellens Lot

By lizellen

Concreting the Drive

My driveway was in a bad state so I decided to get it relaid. Over the last week  they pulled up the old concrete and prepared for the new.

The team rolled up at 7 am this morning  ready to start. There were 8 guys and 2 wheelbarrows and I thought  there might have been a few too many in the work crew until the concrete mixer truck arrived. It could only be driven halfway up the drive and this is where the team swung into action like a well oiled machine.

It was fascinating to watch as the mix poured down the chute and the two wheelbarrows alternated, racing it to where the workers were spreading and tamping and smoothing.

Once they reached the deck and clear of the roof overhang, the concrete mixer truck was able to pour directly onto the drive. This is when I took the photo from my vantage point on the deck.  Each man knew his job and they worked around each other so efficiently they had finished by 9 am.

But, that wasn't the end. Three men stayed and worked on the wet concrete with a variety of tools until it was smooth and polished. It was 1 pm before they  left.

I cannot take the car on it for 10 days, nor can I walk on it for two days. That has effectively left me stranded. I wanted to move my car further along so it is out of the way of neighbours backing out,  but the fence is too high for me to climb over. Oh well, stuck at home I will have no excuse  not to have a big tidy  and catch up in the garden.

This is a wide angle shot but not in mono - it did not look good in mono.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.