Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

Along the Stafylos Road

Last February I was happily exploring local private churches and sharing their treasures with you. This year is different, the churches are a bit farther away, I am not acquainted with the families to whom they belong, they are situated along the main road, plainly visible to passengers on the bus, they are behind fences and gates and padlocks, I don't know which saints they honour. I select them for their external architectural individuality and nothing more. I realise that most of the local private churches I presented last February have scanty modern concrete and brick construction whereas those I select this year have more individuality, on the outside, I wonder how much individuality they might have on the inside.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.