A memory ?

At Christmas Cailean gave Cathleen a voucher for a  gin distillery tour for two at Kingsbarns in Fife.   

It had to be used before the end of February so I decided to take that rare thing, a day off, and drive to Edinburgh  - where we were due to have dinner with Cailean and Anna, this being Cailean's 30th birthday - via Fife. 

As a result we had a great visit to Kingsbarns where the staff were wonderfully friendly and well informed, where the sandwiches were  delicious and where we were the only two on the afternoon tour.

However on our way to Edinburgh I had to take a detour because of road re-surfacing and found myself unintentionally driving through Anstruther, Pitenweem, St Monans and then Elie.   

Although I am very much a  west coaster , my parents lived in  the East Neuk between mid 1954 and sometime in 1958 when they moved back to my father's home town of Troon. 

 I was born in 1953 and my earliest memory is of attending some sort of nursery school in a house by the shore in Elie.   

I wondered if I could find it this afternoon using my scanty memory and very quickly identified this as the probable  location.   I think it was run by a Miss Storar and I can only have been there for something less than a year and probably part time too.   

Of course  I may be wrong, and might be a house or two out, but I don't think so though it is not a nursery school now.  

Anyway the  present view was a good one and worth a blip for that reason alone.  Dinner in Edinburgh was  most enjoyable too. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.