Life thru a looking glass

By DebbieB

Happy Valentines Lovers...

Valentines was spent in the most perfect way... with two of my absolutely stunning besties. There’s that saying... maybe our girlfriends are our soulmates, and guys are just people to have fun with. If we actually believed this... it’d probably make life a lot easier.

Truth be told.. I don’t actually care about Valentine’s Day.. I never have... it’s just a date... and there are so many other much more significant dates that fall on this week.

Spending it with my girls means so much more... they’re the ones that recognise the things you fail to see right at the beginning. So, did he lie to me about who he was, or did I lie to myself? I think my girls would say it was the latter... I think it was a little of both.

In the beginning I think it was genuine... by the end... I think I was conning myself into believing he was a person who didn’t even actually exist.. the fun, the banter... it all faded so quickly.. and then all that was left was the sniping, the arguments and the frustrations... I thought I’d fallen for this person who’d swept me off my feet... but the harsh reality is....I only fell for a facade... none of it was real.

Shame it took me so long to realise it. Always listen to your true Valentines... your girls!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.