just when you think you know someone

I’m putting together a website/blog for the band.  It’ll have the usual stuff - who we are, news about upcoming gigs and so forth.

I thought I’d try and make the band biographies a bit more interesting by looking at how we all started playing - motivation, influences - that sort of thing, because some of the people I play with have history.

I know they all have a web presence of some sort but when I started googling, I didn’t expect to find this.  

I’ve known Phil Riley for the past 5 or 6 years.  He’s a wonderful singer/songwriter with some lovely songs out there on the internet - thoughtful lyrics and beautiful melodies.  That’s the Phil I know.

I knew that he (along with Neil, our mandolin player) were trying to have a serious musical career back in the 1970s, but that it all came to nothing.  I had no idea that Phil eventually had chart success with this song in 1982.  ‘Helen in your headphones’,  released on EMI, reached No 96 in the UK charts.  Ah well.

I recognise the voice first and then the face.  Pop music’s loss is our gain.

If you’re interested you can find him here.  Check out ‘Boots that fit’.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.