Happy Valentines Day!!!

My cousin and his wife sent me these flowers yesterday for Valentines Day!!!!    They are sweetest, most wonderful and thoughtful people that it just make you hug yourself because you are so lucky!!!!
    My MacBook Pro is waiting for an external Hard Drive to arrive so I can download a boatload of photos from the hard drive.  It is so full that  all I can do is mail and Blip.  Now there is a saga that goes along with this event.   Of course, since when does Walking Woman not have a saga?

Last April, I had ordered an 8 tb Western Digital - wifi hard drive to do my house keeping.   I went to connect the wifi, didn't work.......
called WD, they helped me pair the laptop and the Ex D, which required going into the laptop to creat a new network, a new ip address for the  bluetooth to recognize, go into the dashboard of the drive and set up administration, a password (because it's a share drive)  develop folders for the data to be transferred into (2017, Bonsai, Dogs, Arizona, etc.)  With all of this work done, now the  drive has a place to accept the photos for where I identify a place to export them.     Yeah!!!   I figured I am ready to go.  The WD tech people said they couldn't transfer the data but that I was all set now to go into LR, which they couldn't.  But I am happy, I know where to find the cloud drive (thats what WD calls it), I know how to export from LR,  Yippee!!!!!!

Wrong.   I opened up LR,  I couldn't get anything to transfer.  So, the next day I am back on the phone to Adobe......  explain my problem, they do a screen share and tell me that they can't transfer data,either, because they can't go into WD drives!   And.......  LR doesn't do share files, and if I do manage to get it to transfere, they do not guarantee  that  data won't get scrambled, lost, or damaged.  GREAT!!!!!!!!!!!!!         Now what?
Now, they did explain that if I did step A, log into cloud drive, go to finder, open file that is receiving, go to LR, export to cloud drive, submit password, and hope it works, it should.......    All of this sounds to me like one needs to be a huge network techie, and if you understand all this, remember all the steps, in the correct order, it should work.

This whole thing is way beyond me.  I called WD back.  They offered to exchange the cloud drive for a non-wifi, My Book hard drive that requires a ubs cord to connect to the laptop.   The HD then shows up in the Library module for when you import your photos under the final step of "Where to Impost to" icon.    Choose My Book, and click import............     Thats it!    The replacement Drive is not as large as the original one, but it is 7 months out of the exchange date.  The Cloud drive was nothing that I could use.  I am very grateful to the company that they replace the drive with a drive I can use, LR is written for, even if it has a bit less storage than the one I bought.  The bright spot is I bought the cloud, on sale, at a great place, so in the long run, I am not losing to much.

What have I learned?   I am not a Network techie, and sometimes the turtle way is better than faster, newer way.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.