Particles & Waves

By EdwardFenner

Library Overload

I make good use of our local library. Lots of books, CDs, Blu-Rays, and DVDS are borrowed. Based on these numbers, I may be overdoing it. I certainly seem to have a bit of an addition to my library. Not the worst vice, I suppose.

The On Hold number is high because I reserve stuff online and am in the queue anywhere from 1st to 33rd (on one DVD, currently). When hold numbers get that big for a single item, the library usually will buy another one or two copies to speed things up. Many of my On Holds are actually On Order and won't arrive for up to six weeks. I typically poke around the On Order site to get holds in early rather than put a hold on them when they pop up in the Just Arrived page which is where everybody and their dog finds them and puts holds on them, hence the 20- and 30-somethings number I have on some waiting lists.

Whatever, eventually I will get an email saying something is waiting for me on the holds shelf. Easy peasy. I rarely have to browse the shelves though I will poke around the carts of recent returns which the staff leaves in conspicuous places. They know well that there are plenty of patrons like me who "dumpster drive" or "cart dive" for interesting stuff...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.