Light & sight

By CameronDP

York

I have been bizarrely partial to York since I first visited the city as a teenager with my late Dad. Later I used to trek over here to visit the bookshops and then later still I even lived there for a while: about 18 months in my 20s. Time and circumstance took me away again though and I'm still waiting for a chance to move back. I drop in for a few hours every month or so to this day, go for a wander beneath the dreaming spires and then head back home again, my head somehow clearer. Perhaps I lived in York in a past life - I wouldn't rule it out!
Sometimes when I go there I find my thoughts drifting to a woman I was seeing for a while - years ago now. She lived in York. She went off with someone else. I wasn't very happy about that at the time but you've got to play the cards that life deals you.
Several years later I ran into her again, we reconnected for a bit and even went on a date up at the Clifton Moor cinema. She'd split up with the guy she'd dropped me for and for a little while it was like none of it had ever happened. But it was too late. Our time had passed. Our moment was gone and we both knew it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.