I disturbed its rest

Up to Snells Beach this morning, without too much delay in traffic. From all the motorway signs warning of delays, one could surmise that had we been a bit earlier, we might well have been in much slower traffic. Got here about mid tide and went down to the water before having lunch.

This kawau paka (Little Pied Shag) was quietly resting on the rocks. I took photos as I edged closer. This was the last but one before it decided enough was enough and flew away. 

The first extra was taken on the same trip down to the water. I had gone around the point separating Southend of Snells Beach from Fidelis Beach, where I got this photo of a kite surfer racing an outboard motor powered boat. He kep pace for quite some time before he nose dived into a wave and came off. I was very impressed that Wind versus Petrol was viable. At least for a short time.

The second extra was taken just after daughter C and her boys arrived. S' younger brother and his three children are here from Melbourne as my mother-in-law asked to have a 98th birthday party. The actual anniversary was earlier in the week, but the party is tomorrow. Here The tallest cousin is with Mr H and Young L. Since I last saw him (only a couple of weeks ago), he has become taller than his Granny (S) and I look him almost eye to eye. (N is 6ft 5in)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.