misswinterfinch

By misswinterfinch

A Saturday Helper

Another cat blip, but Persey really thinks it a all about him!  Whatever "it" is. I think I may have overly 'brightned' the black fur to get it to stand out.

As I was collecting books to return to the library he is helping, I guess.
This lovely book is about a 100 year old New York poet and his equally old garden on Cape Cod, Mass.
Stanley Kunitz writes poems about this garden. This book with photos is called The Wild Braid.   The long poem in the collection is about the snakes that live in one of his old cedars, wrapping around one another  into a kind of braid. After reading this book and Stanley's philosophy of being old I am more inspired to accept growing much older myself.

Gardening and Poetry-- two of my favourite activities. I feel like it is time to start some seeds indoors since the weather is surprising us by becoming mild. The snow is melting away... Spring could be pushing in.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.