Matts Photo Journal

By photomatt

A Beautiful Day in Delaware - Snowy Egret

The day started early with the dogs getting me up at 2:45. Never got back to sleep so my friend and I decided to head to Delaware a little earlier than we had first planned. Our first stop was to Bombay Hook National Wildlife Refuge. I suspect a lot of birds have already migrated south for the winter as there was not a whole lot to see...

There were a ton of these white birds hanging around. I would love to know what kind this is if any of you bird lovers out there have a clue... Deb and Folkie did the homework for me and figured out that this is a snowy egret (part of the heron family). Click here for a larger view.

We got to Rehoboth Beach about 1:30 p.m. and stopped for a wonderful unch. Then took a long walk on the beach, did some window shopping, and are now ready to head out for a seafood dinner...

The weather was just incredibly perfect with crystal clear blue skies and temperatures in the lower 70's. Note that I have been going to Rehoboth since I was a kid and never ever remember the beach being packed this late in the fall season.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.