Folkie Booknerd

By Folkiebooknerd

Waiting for the Lion

I’ve been a tad poorly the last few days but rallied in time to get myself down to Chinatown this afternoon for the New Year Celebrations marking the Year of the Dog.

There was a very good turnout - and drumming, lion and dragon-dancing and firecrackers aplenty. But I was particularly taken with one family and their excited preparations for a visit by the ‘lion’ which would eat the lettuce and oranges they offered it, and bring good fortune to their home and business.

I took a lot of photos of them over the best part of an hour (they were happy to be photographed, I hasten to add!) and it’s been hard to pick a favourite, but this little girl really captured my heart! This shot was taken through the window as she waited patiently inside. I also love the Extra picture of her and her companion on the front steps with the oranges.

Today’s tune is ‘Constantly (Chinese Version)’ by Emmy the Great www.youtube.com/watch?v=GyFNRiOqmuo

PS I felt the earthquake yesterday! My furniture shook and rattled and, at first, I thought my next-door neighbours had finally taken their DIY endeavours a step too far! But I eventually realised it was something rather more seismic than that. Quite an experience.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.