Where Next?

By HK

A wonderful day

A terrible photo but a wonderful day! Joseph and I had no particular place to be, Andy was out doing ‘muddy bikes’ with his friends so we had the day to ourselves. This morning we met up with our friends Ness, Richard and their daughter Lucy at The Hermitage. Lucy and Joseph were born a day apart and we all meet up quite often. We collected sticks, splashed in muddy puddles, ate snacks and floated leaves in the stream. Joseph and I walked through another park on our way home, I’ve often rushed through it to get home for a feed or change a nappy, I’ve plodded around it in the driving rain hoping for nap time. But not today. Today everything just seemed to work out, we laughed a lot together, collected even more sticks to throw in the stream and just generally messed about. It was well past lunchtime by the time we got home but JoJo still wanted to help me cook lunch, we made boiled eggs and soldiers.

It was one of those days which felt aligned, totally natural and fun. They have been a rarity around here. When Joseph arrived I struggled with postnatal depression and it still rears its ugly head sometimes - but days like these are priceless and I wouldn’t change a single thing.

It’s taken a long time for me to realise that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.