But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Remains of the Day.

When I first started bee keeping, Ian old timer advised me to visit all the clubs in the area – and join the one that served the best teas. The problem was that they all served delicious home-made cakes which left me ready to kill for something savoury. Thus it was, some thirty years ago, I started making bread and taking cheese sandwiches along with pickled onions made to a recipe handed down to me by my father. The pairing soon became a standing joke so that now, it seems, visitors at our club meetings are primed to take me to one side at the end and tell me just how much they like the sandwiches or ask for the pickle recipe.
 
Joking apart, an hour or two before the Blip was taken, a whole loaf’s worth of sandwiches were piled on the plate and the bowl was overflowing with onions. A swarm of locusts is nothing compared to a dozen bee keepers at the end of a meeting
 
The remains would have been my lunch tomorrow had Mrs TD not taken them for her supper.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.