Monomonday: Out Of My Comfort Zone

As I may have mentioned before, DIY of most sorts (I don't mind decorating) is not my forte, especially anything to with electricity, but I thought that even I would be comfortable with the task of purchasing a new cable for the telephone in a bid to solve the deafening crackle we've experienced since BT 'fixed' the line at the weekend.

Not so.

First was the problem of finding a local shop that actually sells them; an independent mobile phone repairer as it happened. Secondly, I'd naively assumed that all such cables were the same so when the nice chap behind the counter asked what pair (or possibly pear?) I needed, I nearly said I only wanted one. When I explained it had a squarish Perspex bit at one end and a flattish white bit with grooves at the other, he realised he wasn't dealing with an expert and sent me home to fetch the current faulty one.

After a quick check he sorted me out a 2 'pair' (or is that 'pere'?) version. When he asked how long I wanted it, I was tempted to say I wanted to keep it permanently, not borrow it but I thought that might have tried his patience and humour too far.

Anyway, the new, single cable is now installed and the line is more completely non-crackly than it's been for a long time, making for a far more comfortable phone conversation.

Other than that, it's been another quiet day..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.