Who could resist?

This morning some of our group went to visit a local township where there are varying degrees of hardship, from abject poverty, hostels, free houses, rentals and then surprisingly, some very affluent homes where the residents have achieved success but prefer to stay within the community where they were raised.

We visited a kindergarten where this delightful little girl stood fascinated by the white folk. One little boy in class caught my eye and so after they’d finished their songs and dances I went over to him and bent down so he could show me his drawing. He put his hand out and stroked my face, probably to see if the white would rub off, and then took the glasses off my head so he could wear them. It was a really moving morning

I’ll try and add a couple of extras.

This afternoon we’ve lazed by the pool before heading back to the waterfront to meet up with three more of our group for a final dinner.

Tomorrow afternoon we begin our long journey home, flying up to Johannesburg and then on to Heathrow, where we arrive on Wednesday morning.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.