Scaffolding

Today was meant to be a meeting in Wellington. Last week I cancelled my flights, as I am still covering a colleague's absence on sick leave. As it happened, the meeting was called off because of the very likelihood of Wellington airport being closed due to the latest cyclone to hit the country this summer. The closure was predicted for the afternoon, meaning everyone from outside Wellington would not be able to get home.

Yesterday, I had dared the weather, and ridden my bike. Painlessly and dry both ways. Thought long and hard this morning and decided to chance it again. perfect weather for cycling this morning. Indeed, as can be seen in my blip (a photo taken out the window in the main concourse of the hospital of remediation works on part of the "new block"), the sky early in the day was blue and almost cloudless. 

During the day, my walking between the main block and the psychiatric inpatient unit was marked by increasingly strong wind. However, by the time the rain squalls hit I was safely settled for the rest of the day in the main block. Not long before I left to ride home, S texted me to warn that the wind was too strong and gusty to safely ride. Deciding that if it was that bad, I would walk home pushing the bicycle (it is a pushbike after all), I went to get my bike. The wind was moderate, and the rain had stopped. So I rode home, in what were (briefly as it turned out) unremarkable conditions.

Later, the wind threatened to blow the apartment inside  out, or so it seemed when both the front door and the doors to the deck were open at the same time. S has a meeting of her writing group here this evening, and I'm doing my blip in the study with a cooling fan for company.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.