Pickles in paint

My first taste memory is pickle. Even as a kid, I was really weird. I liked chillis. I used to climb up the shelves in my grandmother's pantry. The pickle jar was kept right at the top. One time, I dropped the jar and it broke. I was totally busted.
Padma Lakshmi


This is the underpainting for my latest canvas venture. I started it Friday at the studio and had lots of fun. G and I are embarking on a few new ventures. We're focusing on our work with my grandmother Nora's diaries, photographs and artifacts I gathered to illustrate her daily jottings. We have a performance of G's solo work, artifact display and various ideas perhaps also for a book in mind. I've actually never painted a still life, well, there was that difficult silver teapot at the first oil painting class I took in 2002, so this will be an adventure. If it continues to be as enjoyable as it was Friday, there might be a series based on the Nora photo collages I immersed myself in last spring.

For the Record,
This day came in bathed in brilliant golden fall light and colors.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.