Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Table decoration - TT143

I found these tiny beauties on my walk today, growing in the nature reserve on the way to town.  From the centre I caught a bus out to Shawford and walked back through the water meadows.  There were wagtails flitting about catching insects over the water, I saw my first marsh marigolds of the year, and still acres and acres of snowdrops.

The fungi are called Scarlet Elf Cups.  I have never noticed them before.  The large one was about 1.5cm across, though I believe they grow a little bigger.  My field guide says approx 2.5cms.  It also says, hilariously, "Moss-covered twigs bearing these scarlet fruiting bodies make effective table decorations."  Poisoned guests, anyone?  Well that's the kind of fun you get from ancient (1970s) texts! 

Thanks to mindful_life for hosting the TT challenge this month.  The theme is 'Sharp' but I see it's optional so hope this qualifies.

Happy evening, blipbuds  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.