Mug.

One of two of these ancient mugs (both with repaired handles) that I have, and that have been with the family since they were new, sometime in the 1960's. Don't know where the others are. As we kids all had one each.

After about four years of using this at work - filling with tea in the canteen, and saving the planet from another throwaway cup - I was approached by an unknown Student. She felt compelled to express her shock that I should be using it as such, "Do you know how much that's worth?" Told her that that didn't bother me.

Other families have different foibles and rules, that may well seem to weird to you or me. Perhaps she'd grown up with adults that prized such Cornishware(?) when it became collectable, and only kept theirs safe in a display cabinet, never to be used, and with great fear of retribution dinned into the offspring, lest they ever contemplate touching or breathing on it.

We had different rules...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.