Crazy About Birds

By Kimb

Frog With Eggs

We've had some wildly unseasonably warm weather off and on lately. Last week it was up above 60 ℉ and the frogs were croaking like mad in our leaky frog pond. Then they went silent for a few days when it got cold again. Today it was up to about 74 ℉ and the frogs were at it again. I tiptoed up there and peeked in to see how many frogs I could see. Well! I couldn't see one *corner* where there's a big rock - behind which I was trying to hide so they wouldn't see me and submerge - but in the area that I could see I counted sixteen frogs. SIXTEEN. Holy cow. This one was completely surrounded by eggs. I don't know what will happen if/when the weather turns more seasonable again... I want to say it'll be okay because stuff happens every year and they deal with it. But climate change is a bitch, and I don't know what will happen really. I trust/hope there will be viable tadpoles at some point.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.