Gifts of Grace

By grace

Memorial feast

I went down to the end of the pier to dance the sunset on my sixty seventh birthday.  

And found this tidy and colourful offering.  For the gulls, I imagine, but they clearly had not found it yet.
 
Above it a small printed plaque like a door name plate - see extra.  Tommy used to tie up the ferries, when we had a ferry, and swept the streets too.  The kindest man you could meet. I knew he retired but I didn't know he had died. I'm guessing he used to get scraps from the fishmonger for the gulls and someone is continuing the tradition in memoriam.  Sweet.

Afterthought: perhaps this is not a daily commemoration but an annual one on the date of death?  I'll check next time I'm down there.  Not today 'though.  Bone chilling cold.  Maybe too the feast has nothing to do with the plaque ... just a coincidence.  Was it Sartre who called man 'the meaning maker'?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.