"Life is Art. Art is life.  I never separate them." - Ai Wei Wei

This afternoon I took some students to Sabanci Museum to see the Ai WeiWei exhibition that has been extended until 11th March.  As I wandered around the collection (last seen here) I became absorbed in watching two guards on tenterhooks, as they in turn, watched this group of adults and toddlers, who had invaded the no-go zone around the platform of exhibits. With the little ones restrained in adult arms to stop them as they repeatedly and understandably tried moving closer and reaching out to touch, I, we, watched, the engrossed photographer determined to capture the cuteness of their enchanting enchantment with the artworks, while the awkward lean of her backpack supporting body looked like she must succumb to the laws of gravity at any moment and fall in to the artefacts.  It was an all absorbing and surprisingly tense cinematic few moments. 

Meanwhile, my students enjoyed AiWeiWei's contribution to their artistic experience and no pots were broken in the making of this photograph.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.