Clare

By ClareON

Some time ago I decided I wanted to make a knitted version of the Claddagh  design. As usual, I was pleased to find this hasn't been done much, if at all. Then - also as usual - I soon found out why. It is not easy to render a crown or hands in knitting. After much swearing, ripping back and re-knitting, imagine my delight to discover there is a variation called the 'Fenian Claddagh' with no crown, which suits both my sensibilities and the technical limits of knitting. Imagine my further delight to come across the Scottish  Luckenbrooch, also in the family of fede symbols It features intertwined hearts, which helped me come up with this one -  a bit of both versions.

I will put a knitting chart  and a properly blocked picture on Ravelry soon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.