Mr John

By MrJohn

The wrong kind .....

..... of mist.

After work this evening I could see a mist decending over Ilkley and knew there would be no hope of trying to take a long exposure shot of the International Space Station tonight, so decided to have a go at taking some misty photos. I walked home, picked up my camera and headed straight back out. The decision I had to make was would I walk up on to the Cow and Calf side of the moor, or cross the river and try some misty woodland photos, I chose the latter option. ( although after seeing drmackem's stunning blip today I think The former option may have been the wiser one. )

Although the mist was fairly heavy, the woodland canopy seemed to keep most of it out. I tooke a few photos in the woods which I quite like but they didn't have the dramatic shafts of light that I was planning on getting. After a half hour trudge around the woods and getting increasingly muddy shoes I decided to head on up to Middleton. My sense of direction isn't great at the best of times, but in a misty woodland with undifined footpaths is terrible. In the end I managed to get lost in the woods and only found my way out on to Curly hill by using the gps map function on my phone :-/.

Once up in middleton the mist got a lot denser ( maybe I should call it fog ) and it was tricky to see more than a few meters in front of me for much of the time. I had to set the camera to manual focus as it refused to focus in the misty conditions. One downside of the poor visibility was that I was walking on roads without any footpaths, but luckily the cars treating it like a racetrack this evening managed not to run me over. I took lots of photos looking in to fields most of which just looked white ( I didn't see the tree in this photo unti I uploaded it when I got back home ).

After an hour or so of snapping mostly white space, I headed back down to the river, where the mist was a lot lighter and had a bag of chips from the riverside cafe to tide me over until I cook tea. Despite not getting the dramatic misty shafts of light I was hoping for, I quite like the almost oil painting-esq feel of what I have ended up with instead. So today's blip is .....


..... The wrong kind of mist.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.