We Were Both Surprised

I watched the hawk from below as he bobbed his head around, way up on the arm of the light post. I love that gesture, so alert, missing nothing. Then off he went, flying low over to the cliffs. I expected he would soar back up with a mouse, but no. Thought he disappeared, and was scanning the cliffs with my camera when bam! he landed about 15 feet from where I was standing! We stared at one another for a little bit, and then off he went again, leaving me breathless and laughing. I always feel so blessed when a wild creature crosses my path like this, as if I'd been singled out for a special message. It's not exaggerating to say I sensed that warm feral heartbeat, could almost smell the wildness. There I was, right time, right place, my finger already on the shutter button.  Was it a sign? I know it made my day.

Now, late afternoon, the wind howls outside, black clouds lurk. It did rain a bit, although someone swears it was a brief snowfall, wet and sparse. Got a nice fire going. Looks like a good night for reading.

Btw, I switched out yesterday's photo.  If you like terminally cute pix of birds, go take a look...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.