Die Weiße Rose - White Rose

75 years ago, Sophie and Hans Scholl and their friend Christoph Probst were killed by Guillotine, sentenced to death by the Nazi regime because of their non violent resistance against Hitler.
Known under the name "Die weiße Rose" - White Rose the students at the University of Munich distributed leaflest in which they name Hitlers crimes and ask for freedom for the nation and an end of the oppression. They were hoping that they could start a resistance and had contact to other resisctance cells. It was most dangerous for them. 
I found this short English documentation that tells you their story much better than I could do.
While they were spreading the 6th leaflet, which was written by their Professor Kurt Huber, they were captured on 18th February 1943 and sentenced to death and executed at the 22th February 1943.
The leaflets were spread in several german cities, mostly by letters.
In December 1943 the British Aircraft dropped their 6th leaflet over German cities.

I was always deaply impressed by the courage of the White Rose. Asking myself, what would I have done, I'm sure I would have been too spineless. Even now in much much easier times I remain speachless too often, for example I ignore those unbearable fascist comments which are found everywhere at Facebook...

I taged this blip to EP15 ("Light and shadow"), but it is more in a philosophical way. In Germany there was a lot of Shadow or call it darkness. The White Rose were a smal light of hope. 
Technically the picture of Hans and Sophie Scholl on my mobile was the only light source for the rose...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.