It’s edible!

Apart from losing two precious things today -
A large filling or maybe it was a crown and
a gold earring which could have fallen out anywhere -
I’ve had such a lovely day.

Our WEA class started again. This time we are studying Muriel Spark, this being her centenary year. Our tutor is so good - and the class make such interesting observations that I’m always inspired. I’ll even do my homework, oh yes I will.

Then I bombed down to Newcastle where I met an old friend from uni days. We celebrated our birthdays, past and future. We don’t need an excuse really. We had the taster menu at House of Tides.

We treated ourselves to a glass of Pol Roger, but didn’t indulge in the wine pairings.

We food looked amazing and was a taste sensation, apart from the last course which was too chocolately and a bit sickly.

We had
Cream cheese, onion, truffle gougeres

Carrot meringue, fennel
Smoked cods roe, squid ink cracker, lemon
Duck, hazelnut, pear

Lindisfarne Oyster, cucumber, ginger, caviar

Mackerel, beetroot, radish

Cumbrian lamb, mint, crispy kale

Pork belly, tenderloin, black pudding, salsify, onion, lovage ash

Rhubarb, rose, brown butter

Dark choc hazelnut

I’d much rather have this a couple of times a year and never eat out at any other time. It is so worth it.

The Blip,is the rhubarb pudding.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.