Sad day

It’s been a sad day today.

It was the funeral of my best friends sister. A beautiful service with only standing room at the church. A funeral makes you reflect, especially when the person who died is only 5 years older than yourself. I still can’t quite believe that she has died.

My second sad part of today was when I got home and a chap from the Woodland Trust knocked on the door to let me know that the chestnut tree in the woods behind our garden fence was to be chopped down. It is, or was, a magnificent tree. In the spring itis the first to burst open in leaf, with bright green leaves, gorgeous candles, but then by mid summer the moth gets it and it covered in brown leaves. Quite a landmark and it will be so sad to see it go, but with black spot and a fungus around the bottom it is doomed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.