Colin McLean

By ColinMcLean

Neist Point

I had chosen the wrong end of Skye today, heading north to The Quiraing and Staffin (though seeing The Hut on Staffin Island, the name of a tune we play, was some compensation), where the rain never really stopped. Apparently the south of Skye had a decent day.

From Staffin I headed west to Neist Point - the most westerly point of Skye in fact - and walked down to the lighthouse. The former keepers' cottages have been converted to holiday accommodation but, sadly, had been broken into and vandalised. It would be an interesting place to spend your holidays, though the walk from the car park to the Lighthouse is neither short nor level; witness the cable car set up to tranport goods and supplies.

The clifftop location is wild and impressive; I was glad the decent wind was blowing in from the sea, or I'd have been going nowhere near the edge. There are some interesting sea stacks, like the one in the picture. I think the land on the horizon is the Uists and Barra, but I'd happily be corrected.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.