Pictures & Woodwork.

By PeterB

Henry Millidge.

     This is a caricature drawing of my Grandfather (My Mother's Father) Drawn by Houston Russell.
He was a Baritone singer with the D' Oyly Carte Opera Company. 
     In 1923 he was performing in the Gilbert and Sullivan opera 'Iolanthe'  and it was this year that My Mother was born. 
A messenger from the hospital where she was born saw him after the opera and asked what name he would like for his Daughter. My Mother was named  'Iolan', being the first 5 letters of the opera. The messenger duly rushed back to the hospital to convey the name to his wife.
You can obtain more information on Henry Millidge via the internet.

     How I have come to blip this was, that I fully intended to print something else, but came across this and decided I would take some shots of it and post it. Now that I have printed it, I will give one to my Sister and my Brother but before doing so will get it framed for them.

Nice to look back on family history occasionally. 

Hope you are all well and keeping warm in this bitterly cold wind.
Enjoy your weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.