nonsenses & truths

By sloeburn

The Sign of Shame

There is a system at the bike recycling place that should mean issues which constitute scrapping are dealt with early on, but it hadn't really happened with this one.  It had already had a handlebar swap, for one with better shifters attached, and a headset fettle.  Then I spent a few hours sorting the gears (which I was pretty pleased with) and the brakes (less impressive).  Then Jess had a feel of the bottom bracket and said it was probably as gunked up as the headset had been and so I started removing cranks to investigate.  Much hammering onto bracing pieces of wood and I ended up with a crank extractor tool screwed in at a very odd angle...the crank was totally seized and it had removed most of the thread rather than move it.  At which point it was not worth spending anymore time (blood/sweat/tears/swearing) on, and will be stripped for anything useful before heading to the scrap metal receiver.

So actually all I achieved was in the final half hour when I sorted the star nut in my head tube, with the usual excellent assistance and advice from Jess and Mark.

If I had the energy I'd be making more of the double entendres involved...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.