Aussiebackhome

By AussieinOz

Just another day in Iceland

Today is the last day of my trip here. Tomorrow I fly on to my next destination. This morning, on just another day in Iceland, we walked, crawled, slid, skidded, crab walked, crouched and waddled, and rolled our way through lava tubes. The experience was fabulous - being able to see the different formations caused by the lava cooling and moving at different rates and speeds was fascinating and Nikko, our guide, was able to provide excellent explanations - as well as a helping hand every now and then. (Sorry about the blown out reflection of my headlamp.)

I think I have bruises, but I don't dare look. I am grateful for the helmets, because I hit my head many times. 

After that we went to an area with bubbling water in pools, surrounded by ice, with a delightful steamy waterfall, and the ever-present smell of sulphur. :) 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.