Return to the North

By Viking

God in all His glory

My sister (aragon69) had heard from a friend that there had been a murmuration at Alkborough Flats (about 3 miles away) last night and so we headed down today for a walk in the hope that we would see it. We had a lovely walk and watched a gorgeous sunset but wasn’t seeing much in the way of starlings. Then in the distance we saw one forming.
Well I can honestly say it was one of the most amazing, awe inspiring and moving moments of my life thus far. When I have seen them in the past they have been from a distance but we were literally underneath this one. The sound in itself was amazing and to be completely surrounded by thousands of birds was phenomenal.
I took around 500 photos on the camera and we were so close I took some on the phone.
This is just one of them

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.