Definitely Visible

By allieballie

Watch that Wigeon!

Neil and I took Sonny for a walk around Birnie and Gaddon lochs yesterday. There were some ducks with rusty-red heads in the distance which I thought at first were pochards but when we got nearer I saw that they had stripes down their face and I knew that pochards didn't. What could they be then? I used to be really good at identifying different ducks. I had the Observer's Book of Birds as a child and looked at the pictures in it on a regular basis but as an adult it's not often I have seen anything much other than mallards. I checked the RSPB site when I got home though and found that they were wigeon. I knew that I had taken one photo of them just - by chance - as one took off, but I hadn't realised what the other wigeon in the shot were doing so hadn't realised that one was watching it until I looked at the pictures at home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.