stujphoto

By stujphoto

Meikle Logie

Yesterday I went with my friends, Eric & John to visit John's art exhibition at Birnam Art Centre. It is entitled 'Meikle Logie' and here is John's summary of the purpose of the exhibition.

'In early 2016 a friend of mine, Alan Lawson, acquired 200 acres of hill land called Meikle Logie on the north side of Strathbraan, three miles west of Dunkeld.  The land contained a small wood (Jack’s Wood) of about 15 acres, with pines, larches, spruces and birches, mostly about 60 years old, but with many already blown down. The plan was to fell this wood and re-plant it with conifers and some broadleaves. 
He invited me to become 'The Meikle Logie Makar' (his words), suggesting respond to the process in my own way with a series of drawings and paintings.  I expanded the remit to take in other scenes on Alan's hill and the surrounding area.'


Before we visited the exhibition we went out to the cleared area of hill land to get an idea of the terrain and to set John's works in context for us. There are still a few trees standing and my images (including extras) give an impression of the landscape. 


John has exhibited with myself and Eric over the last eight years so and it has been interesting to see how his work has developed over the years from record shots to a more expressionist technique. I have also included a shot one of my favourite paintings in the extras

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.