Hirundography

By Hirundo

Tis Was

Rowntree's Park  |  York, UK

This park is another segment in my DNA...

When I were right little, I used to come here with my grand-dad and sail my model boat on the lake with loads of other kids. There's an [extra] lake on the other side of a little hump-backed bridge.

A few years on, and at secondary school near-by, me and my mates used to ride through at lunch-times and most days after school to swim in the only open air pool left in York. Ace place, but they shut it down in the mid 70s.

Now, the park is still very popular and the tall white building has changed somewhat. It used to be a bit scabby and just sell ice-creams and instant coffees in the summer months. Recently, they've built a bit on the side and it's now a really popular "reading cafe". Part of the CIC (cf. Blip...) library services for the city.

It is a brilliant spot - coffee, cake and reading on the veranda in summer, what's not to like? (Coffee-haters, schtum, please)...

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.