Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

Bad Hair Day

Back blip

After yesterday's walk along the John Muir Way from Polmont to the Falkirk Wheel, I decided to walk another stretch of that long-distance footpath today, albeit in an easterly direction this time. The plan was to walk the relatively short distance from Bonnybridge to the Wheel, a route that passes along by the Antonine Wall at Rough Castle Roman fort.

Catching the bus down to Bonnybridge, I walked through Bonnyfield Local Nature Reserve to get to the Forth & Clyde Canal, where I joined the John Muir Way. However, I hadn't gone far along the Canal before I came across a male and female goosander swimming around. Plenty of photo opportunities there! I settled for this one of the female, her tuft of hair quite striking at this angle.

I've added an extra from the eastern end of Rough Castle Community Woodland, taken a few minutes before the sunset.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.