Plus ça change...

By SooB

TiredGirl

A disturbed night for the grown ups meant a later start than I would normally expect on a skiing holiday. We mooched and breakfasted in a leisurely way around 10am, while Mr B saw to some work stuff.

Then we hit the slopes under the bluest skies. Today we headed right to the furthest reaches of the resort and found some wonderfully sweeping runs, and only one really tricky steep narrow bit that tested my legs (I am generally backstop: MrB finds the route, the kids follow, and I scoop up any fallers, so there is often a lot of energy-sapping braking necessary.)

Lunch was a very unclassy burger, and I called the day short before the planned final run when I realised that the tears in my eyes were more to do with the pain in my shins than the icy breeze. Years ago I bought boots because of the pain rented boots seemed to cause me, but today was pretty bad. In common with an ex-blipper I think my problem is my thick calves...

And as you can see TallGirl found the experience overwhelming. There was a lot of napping this afternoon.

Home then for a lot of collapsing, and some shopping once my strength had returned. Mr B had more work stuff (I guess he is only on holiday for the actual skiing hours...), I called my folks, dinner was had and now the other three are bickering over Risk.

Last night we finally convinced Mr B to join our Spotify family, and with some help from TallGirl he is sold on the radio function. Music has improved round here as a consequence, though TallGirl had hoped it would improve more: I don't think she knew just how much 'old' music is on Spotify.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.