Dancersend

By Dancersend

Peregrines at the power plant

Today I was at a meeting held at Greatmoor Energy from Waste Plant in mid Buckinghamshire. It's my first time there and I have to say it is quite an impressive building on an old brickworks site in a very rural setting. Despite major objections to it being built, over a number of years, it now seems to be performing rather well. In addition to producing energy for an awful lot of homes by burning waste that would otherwise have gone to landfill, it has now attracted a pair of peregrine falcons. My meeting was disrupted at times as they came into view through the window. On leaving, I spotted them both on the building and took the best photo I could with my compact camera. In the right-hand shot the male is at the top of the building, with the female below him on a ledge where they may be starting to nest - you will just have to believe me!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.