Snowing

There was a little dusting of snow on the ground when I got up but by the time I got back from shopping it had all gone. Frequent cold sunny spells with snow in between.

There was snow just before dinner which has stayed & will freeze overnight until the next early morning snow.

Had a sparrowhawk in the garden catching a wood pigeon. I had gone out because of the noise thinking that the bird had got stuck on my new chicken-wire fence.

A big fat wood pigeon would have been a good meal for a sparrowhawk, unfortunately the pigeon had been trapped against the fence by the hawk & I had disturbed it.

What a dilemma, I would not have interrupted the sparrowhawk with it's brunch if it hadn't been for the fact I thought the birdy had got caught on the new fence.

The pigeon lives another day, but will be wary of coming to the bird feeders, but I'll keep an eye out for the sparrowhawk.

Even the neighbours came out to see what all the commotion was about.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.