The Hungry Caterpillar

I wonder if this skinny little creature is responsible for all those chewed up petals? Seems like it should be a lot bigger if it really ate so much...


Earlier today by the ocean I passed a man who was sitting in his van with the windows down, watching the waves, enjoying the fresh air, and eating a big breakfast sandwich. There was a handful of little birds in the parking lot as well, scrounging around for treasures in the dirt. Just as I came up even with the car, three of the birds flew inside and landed on the sandwich as the man prepared to take a bite. Our eyes met and we both burst out laughing. He began to break off little bits of bread to toss to the birds, but they were very bold and flew up to take the pieces right out of his fingers. I will be careful if I am ever moved to have my breakfast in that spot.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.