White Out

I sometimes worry that I am not yet a card carrying grown up. Is it normal for a lady with a bus pass to feel the need to write on a pristine stretch of snow?

With the Beast from the East sneaking in overnight, we woke this morning to a whiteness reflecting on the bedroom walls and a vista of snow.
The resident rabbits were the first to enjoy leaving their paw prints on the virginal whiteness as they scampered about in evident enjoyment, followed by His Lordship and his boot prints with rather less enjoyment as he went to buy the papers.
My turn came, and I couldn’t resist defacing a snowy bench with my walking pole. I managed to contain the urge to add ‘woz ‘ere’ !

Our walk was a cold one. The 20mph east wind was relentless and so icy that there was considerable facial pain involved. HL’s nose was in grave danger of frost bite while mine had to be protected by my gloved hand lest it fall off. It was recorded as feeling like -10°.

We got back home before a blizzard swept across the Meadows causing a white out which continues still.
The last weather forecast on the radio has raised the weather alert in the central belt to level 5 for the first time ever.................. maybe they didn’t have such alerts in 1947 and 1963 which I think were much worse in terms of snow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.